In Texas, leaving the scene of an accident or involving oneself in a “hit and run” can have serious criminal consequences.
Where the operator of a vehicle involved in an accident that results or is reasonably likely to result in injury to or death, the Texas Transportation Code requires said operator immediately (1) stop, (2) return to the scene of the accident, (3) determine whether the other person involved in the collision requires assistance and (4) remain at the scene until information is exchanged and, when necessary, aid is rendered.
Failure to comply with the above-referenced statutory requirements can result in charges of failure to stop and render aid, a second-degree felony punishable by up to 20 years in prison if the accident resulted in death to another person and a third-degree felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison if the accident resulted in serious bodily injury to another person. Importantly, responsibility for an accident that results in injury or death to another person does not affect prosecution of charges for failing to stop and render aid immediately after involvement in an accident.
If you've been arrested and charged with the offense of failure to stop and render aid, you need an experienced defense team with a track record for successfully fighting such cases. Vela Law Firm, PLLC has earned a stellar reputation backed by proven results in handling charges of failure to stop and render aid. Contact Vela Law Firm, PLLC online or at (346) 444-8352 to discuss the circumstances of your case.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment